Skip to content Skip to navigation

Chemistry and Chemical Biology Students

The UC Merced graduate program in Chemistry and Chemical Biology is research-based graduate program focused on interdisciplinary, cutting-edge research. We offer Ph.D. degrees in four emphasis tracks: physical chemistry, organic chemistry, computational chemistry and chemical biology.
  • Abou Taka, Ali

  • Email: aaboutaka@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Hrant Hratchian


  • Alvarenga, Jose

  • Email: jalvarenga2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Benjamin Stokes


  • Bains, Arjan

  • Email: abains5@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Patricia LiWang


  • Bidwell, Samantha

  • Email: sbidwell@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Hrant Hratchian


  • Cai, Xiao

  • Email: xcai7@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Benjamin Stokes


  • Chen, Xi

  • Email: xchen27@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Alex Noy


  • Galloway, Jordan

  • Email: jgalloway4@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ryan Baxter


  • Goodlad, Melissa

  • Email: mgoodlad@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Tao Ye


  • Grenland, Jamie

  • Email: jgrenland@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Anne Kelley


  • Harb, Hassan

  • Email: hharb@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Hrant Hratchian


  • Heisler, Joel

  • Email: jheisler@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Andy LiWang


  • Hua, Alyssa

  • Email: ahua5@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ryan Baxter


  • Keshavarz, Amir

  • Email: akeshavarz@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Benjamin Stokes


  • Le, Thanh

  • Email: tle53@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Benjamin Stokes


  • Liu, Xinru

  • Email: xliu34@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Christine Isborn


  • Luong, Thinh

  • Email: tluong8@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Victor Munoz


  • Maddux, Cassandra

  • Email: cmaddux@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Anne Meyers Kelley


  • Morgan, David

  • Email: dmorgan6@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Kelley


  • Mothi, Nivin

  • Email: nmothi@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Victor Munoz


  • Nanney, Warren

  • Email: wnanney@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Erik Menke


  • Petrek, Zachary

  • Email: zpetrek@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Tao Ye


  • Sheng, Xianghai

  • Email: xsheng@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: HRant Hratchian


  • Wilmer, Jacob

  • Email: jwilmer@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Christine Isborn


  • Yao, Yun-Chiao

  • Email: yyao23@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Alex Noy


  • Zhang, Yehan

  • Email: yzhang100@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Tao Ye


  • Zeng, Youhong

  • Email: yzeng4@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Kelley


  • Baker, Sarah

  • Email: sbaker22@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ryan Baxter


  • Brisbin, Ryan

  • Email: rbrisbin@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ryan Baxter


  • Lien, Thanh

  • Email: tlien2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Benjamin Stokes


  • Ochoa, Jocelyn

  • Email: jochoa36@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Benjamin Stokes


  • Rahmani, Paniz

  • Email: prahmani@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Erik Menke


  • Ranka, Karnamohit

  • Email: kranka@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Christine Isborn


  • Sandin, Suzanne

  • Email: ssandin@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ryan Baxter


  • Slim, Zaher

  • Email: zslim@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Erik Menke


  • Spaller, William

  • Email: wspaller@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Benjamin Stokes


  • Tan, Huanyue

  • Email: htan4@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Kelley


  • Showalter, Laura

  • Email: lshowalter@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Patricia LiWang