Skip to content Skip to navigation

Physics Students

The mission of the Physics graduates group at UC Merced is to train our next generation of scientific leaders. Our graduates will be well prepared to conduct and communicate independent research at the knowledge frontier, advancing fundamental understanding of the world around us and using physics to solve important problems in society.
  • Ali, Imtiaz

  • Email: iali@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Amaral, Jose

  • Email: jamaral2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Arenson, Joshua

  • Email: jarenson@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kevin Mitchell


  • Bartolo, Mark

  • Email: mbartolo@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Casara, Joshua

  • Email: jcasara@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Scheibner


  • Castelli, Alessandro

  • Email: acastelli@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Chopra, Pooja

  • Email: pchopra@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Bin Liu


  • Mendewala, Benaz

  • Email: bcolabewala@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Copenhagen, Katherine

  • Email: kcopenhagen@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Dahal, Jiba

  • Email: jdahal@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Venkattraman Ayyaswamy


  • Davenport, Dominique

  • Email: ddavenport3@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Dustin Kleckner/Lin Tian


  • Dugar, Palak

  • Email: pdugar@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Chih-Chun Chein


  • Golnaraghi, Farnaz

  • Email: fgolnaraghi@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Gonzalez, Jeremias

  • Email: jgonzalez49@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Bin Liu


  • Guerrero, Enrique

  • Email: eguerrero23@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Strubbe


  • Huff, Alison

  • Email: ahuff@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Inan, Nader

  • Email: ninan@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Raymond Chiao


  • Jacobs, Andrew

  • Email: ajacobs@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Scheibner


  • Jennings, Cameron

  • Email: cjennings2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Scheibner


  • Khaladj, Dimitrius

  • Email: dkhaladj@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Khan, Md.Imran

  • Email: mkhan39@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Kim, Tom

  • Email: tkim46@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Chih-Chun Chien


  • Li, Qiaochu

  • Email: qli7@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jing Xu


  • Locke, Rory

  • Email: rlocke@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kevin Mitchell


  • Lopes, Joseph

  • Email: jlopes2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Lopez, Rodolfo

  • Email: rlopez48@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Maelfeyt, Bryan

  • Email: bmaelfeyt@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Masoumi, Davoud

  • Email: dmasoumi@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Dustin Kleckner/David Strubbe


  • Melton, Charles

  • Email: cmelton@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Metcalf, Mekena

  • Email: mmcgrew@ucmerced.edu
  • Adivsor: Chih-Chun Chien


  • Miller, Jeffery

  • Email: jmiller22@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Monteros, Alessandro

  • Email: amonteros@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Lin Tian


  • Nikolaidou, Katerina

  • Email: knikolaidou@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Parajuli, Prabin

  • Email: pparajuli@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Lin Tian


  • Pate, Jacob

  • Email: jpate@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Quint, Makiko

  • Email: mtsukamoto@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh/Linda Hirst


  • Raut, Nabin

  • Email: nraut@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Riahinasab, Tayebeh

  • Email: triahinasab@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Sapkota, Deepak

  • Email: dsapkota@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Sarang, Som

  • Email: ssarang@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Tan, Amanda

  • Email: atan25@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Thompson, Johnathon

  • Email: jthompson29@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Vallomparambath, Ritwika

  • Email: ritwika@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Wang, Haiyang

  • Email: hwang59@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jing Xu


  • Wilson, John

  • Email: jwilson54@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jing Xu


  • Collins, Kevin

  • Email: kcollins9@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Bin Liu/Lin Tian


  • Delmas, William

  • Email: wdelmas@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh/Michael Scheibner


  • Montes, Salvador

  • Email: smontes4@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kevin Mitchell/Jing Xu


  • Parajuli, Bishal

  • Email: bparajuli@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kleckner/Strubbe


  • Sarpangala, Niranjan

  • Email: nsarpangala@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan/Linda Hirst


  • Spinuzzi, Joseph

  • Email: jspinuzzi@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Scheibner/Roland Winston


  • Wheeler, Aaron

  • Email: awheeler6@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Roland Winston/Bin Liu


  • Wheeler, Alauna

  • Email: awheeler5@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jing Xu/Jay Sharping


  • Woodall, Mark

  • Email: mwoodall2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh/Jay Sharping