Skip to content Skip to navigation

Quantitative and Systems Biology Students

The QSB graduate group at UC Merced offers individually tailored programs that highlight multidisciplinary research and training for doctoral students who want to be at the forefront of this revolution of biological sciences. Students will study the integration of systems at molecular, cellular, organ, organism or ecological levels to better understand the overall function of biological systems as a whole.
  • Aboukilila, Mohamed

  • Email: maboukilila@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Cleary


  • Adhikari, Pratik

  • Email: padhikari@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fredrick Wolf


  • Alkhouri, Jourjina

  • Email: jalkhouri@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Anderson, Noelle

  • Email: nanderson8@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Roy Scott


  • Nguyen, Anna

  • Email: aankirskaia@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Patricia LiWang


  • Anzules, Jonathan

  • Email: janzules@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Katrina Hoyer/Suzanne Sindi


  • Apostol, April

  • Email: aapostol@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Anna Beaudin


  • Bapat, Priyanka

  • Email: pbapat@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Clarissa Nobile


  • Barghouth, Paul

  • Email: pbarghouth@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Nestor Oviedo


  • Boria, Robert

  • Email: rboria@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jessica Blois


  • Boroomand, Amin

  • Email: aboroomand@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Ardell


  • Boulger, James

  • Email: jboulger@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Victor Munoz


  • Bowser, Bradley

  • Email: bbowser@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Scott Roy


  • Brock, Kinsey

  • Email: kbrock@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Danielle Edwards


  • Carper, Dana

  • Email: dcarper@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Carolin Frank


  • Chicana Romero, Betsabel

  • Email: bchicanaromero@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jennifer Manilay


  • Collins-Hed, Andrew

  • Email: acollins-hed@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Ardell


  • Connolly, Timothy

  • Email: tconnolly@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Colvin


  • Cornejo, Manuel

  • Email: mcornejo3@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Rudy Ortiz


  • Crouch, Theo

  • Email: tcrouch@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Colvin


  • Davidian, Devon

  • Email: ddavidian@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Nestor Oviedo


  • DeNeve Weeks, Danaan

  • Email: ddeneveweeks@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jessica Blois


  • Donham, Cristine

  • Email: cdonham@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jennifer Manilay


  • Dunn, Carissa

  • Email: cdunn7@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ramendra Saha


  • Ennis, Craig

  • Email: cennis@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Clarissa Nobile


  • Fischer, Kathryn

  • Email: kfischer4@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Patricia LiWang


  • Funk, Alyssa

  • Email: afunk@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Emilia Huerta-Sanchez


  • Gardner, Asa F. Jr.

  • Email: agardner5@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fabian Filipp


  • Garsevanyan, Sona

  • Email: sgarsevanyan@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Gibb, Edwin

  • Email: egibb@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fabian Filipp


  • Guo, Yiping

  • Email: yguo8@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Changqing Li


  • Gupta, Rohit

  • Email: rgupta6@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fabian Filipp


  • Kongsomboonvech, Angel

  • Email: akongsomboonvech@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kirk Jensen


  • Laksana, Clement

  • Email: claksana@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Aaron Hernday


  • Landayan, Dan

  • Email: dlandayan@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Frederick Wolf


  • Larue, Graham

  • Email: glarue@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Scott Roy


  • Lauder, Jeffrey

  • Email: jlauder@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Emily Moran


  • Lawrence, Travis

  • Email: tlawrence3@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Ardell


  • LeGro, Melanie

  • Email: mlegro@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Nestor Oviedo


  • Leung, Gabriel

  • Email: gleung2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Anna Beaudin


  • Maciel, Eli Isael

  • Email: emaciel@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Nestor Oviedo


  • Madfis, Nicole

  • Email: nmadfis@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kara McCloskey


  • Mendez, Melanie

  • Email: mmendez24@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Gabriela Loots


  • Millan-Hernandez, Alberto

  • Email: amillan-hernandez@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jennifer Manilay


  • Mira, Portia

  • Email: pmira@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Mullins, Genevieve

  • Email: gmullins@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Katrina Hoyer


  • Olmstead, Keedrian

  • Email: kolmstead@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fabian Filipp


  • Parkhurst, Sarah

  • Email: sparkhurst@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fredrick Wolf


  • Poston, Robert

  • Email: rposton@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ramen Saha


  • Quail, Jade

  • Email: jquail@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Cleary


  • Quail, Morgan

  • Email: mquail2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Aaron Hernday


  • Rallings, Taran

  • Email: trallings@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Justin Yeakel


  • Rodriguez, Diana

  • Email: drodriguez25@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Clarissa Nobile


  • Rodriguez, Ruben

  • Email: rrodriguez3@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Rudy Ortiz


  • Rojas, Salvador

  • Email: srojas5@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Nestor Oviedo


  • Saldierna Guzman, Jessica

  • Email: jsaldiernaguzman@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Carolin Frank


  • Seher, Thaddeus

  • Email: tseher@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Clarissa Nobile


  • Shay, Jacqueline

  • Email: jshay@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Carolin Frank & Jason Sexton


  • Singh, Simar

  • Email: ssingh72@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fabian Filipp


  • Singh, Swadha

  • Email: ssingh235@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Scott Roy


  • Souza, Scott

  • Email: ssouza5@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kirk Jensen


  • Stark, Lauren

  • Email: ledwards3@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Colvin


  • Suswaram, Megha

  • Email: msuswaram@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Danielle Edwards


  • Syed, Shahrukh

  • Email: ssyed2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Katrina Hoyer


  • Thiruvalluvan, Manish

  • Email: mthiruvalluvan@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Nestor Oviedo


  • Thorwald, Max

  • Email: mthorwald@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Rudy Ortiz/Henry Forman


  • To, Victoria

  • Email: vto2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ariel L. Escobar


  • Ul-Hasan, Sabah

  • Email: sul-hasan@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Mark Sistrom/Tanja Woyke


  • Valentine, Kristen

  • Email: kvalentine2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Katrina Hoyer


  • Valle-Arevalo, Ashley

  • Email: avallearevalo@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Clarissa Nobile


  • Wilson, Stephen

  • Email: swilson6@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fabian Filipp


  • Wu, Dean

  • Email: dwu38@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fredrick Wolf


  • Ziman, Benjamin

  • Email: bziman@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Nester Oviedo


  • Cole, Candace

  • Email: ccole5@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Diaz-Parga, Pedro

  • Email: pdiaz-parga@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Diep, Anh

  • Email: adiep4@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Godoy, Jose

  • Email: jgodoy4@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Rudy Ortiz


  • Hadi Nezhad, Fatemeh

  • Email: fhadinezhad@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Ardell


  • Higgins, Karly

  • Email: khiggins@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Dawson


  • Kaze, Mo

  • Email: mkaze@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Mark Sistrom


  • Lange, Anthony

  • Email: alange3@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Fredrick Wolf


  • Le, Clarence

  • Email: cle29@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Wei-Chun Chin


  • Li, Ruihao

  • Email: rli46@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Lopez, Diego

  • Email: dlopez233@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Lopez, Lesly

  • Email: llopez84@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Emilia Huerta-Sanchez


  • Low, Ethan

  • Email: elow4@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • McCool, Jillian

  • Email: jmccool@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Gabriela Loots


  • Morfin, Cesar

  • Email: cmorfin@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Paropkari, Akshay

  • Email: aparopkari@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Perry, Austin

  • Email: aperry5@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Clarissa Nobile


  • Qasim, Mohammad

  • Email: mqasim2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Aaron Hernday


  • Rice, Jonathan

  • Email: jrice26@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Emilia Huerta-Sanchez


  • Sami, Josephine

  • Email: jsami@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Seyedhassantehrani, Negar

  • Email: nseyedhassantehran@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Sweet, Tyrome

  • Email: tsweet@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Toscani Field, Jasper

  • Email: jtoscanifield@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Villa, Sammy

  • Email: svilla8@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Wang, James

  • Email: jwang295@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow


  • Wilson, Jessica

  • Email: jwilson56@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kirk Jensen


  • Wint, Rhondene

  • Email: rwint@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Miriam Barlow