Skip to content Skip to navigation

Physics Students

The mission of the Physics graduates group at UC Merced is to train our next generation of scientific leaders. Our graduates will be well prepared to conduct and communicate independent research at the knowledge frontier, advancing fundamental understanding of the world around us and using physics to solve important problems in society.
  • Ali, Imtiaz

  • Email: iali@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Amaral, Jose

  • Email: jamaral2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Arenson, Joshua

  • Email: jarenson@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kevin Mitchell


  • Casara, Joshua

  • Email: jcasara@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Scheibner


  • Castelli, Alessandro

  • Email: acastelli@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Chopra, Pooja

  • Email: pchopra@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Bin Liu


  • Mendewala, Benaz

  • Email: bcolabewala@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Dahal, Jiba

  • Email: jdahal@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Venkattraman Ayyaswamy


  • Davenport, Dominique

  • Email: ddavenport3@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Dustin Kleckner


  • Dugar, Palak

  • Email: pdugar@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Chih-Chun Chien


  • Golnaraghi, Farnaz

  • Email: fgolnaraghi@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Gonzalez, Jeremias

  • Email: jgonzalez49@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Bin Liu


  • Guerrero, Enrique

  • Email: eguerrero23@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Strubbe


  • Huff, Alison

  • Email: ahuff@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Inan, Nader

  • Email: ninan@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Raymond Chiao


  • Jacobs, Andrew

  • Email: ajacobs@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Scheibner


  • Jennings, Cameron

  • Email: cjennings2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Scheibner


  • Khaladj, Dimitrius

  • Email: dkhaladj@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Khan, Md.Imran

  • Email: mkhan39@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Kim, Tom

  • Email: tkim46@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Chih-Chun Chien


  • Li, Qiaochu

  • Email: qli7@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jing Xu


  • Locke, Rory

  • Email: rlocke@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kevin Mitchell


  • Lopes, Joseph

  • Email: jlopes2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Lopez, Rodolfo

  • Email: rlopez48@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Maelfeyt, Bryan

  • Email: bmaelfeyt@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Masoumi, Davoud

  • Email: dmasoumi@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Roland Winston


  • Melton, Charles

  • Email: cmelton@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Metcalf, Mekena

  • Email: mmcgrew@ucmerced.edu
  • Adivsor: Chih-Chun Chien


  • Miller, Jeffery

  • Email: jmiller22@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Monteros, Alessandro

  • Email: amonteros@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Lin Tian


  • Nikolaidou, Katerina

  • Email: knikolaidou@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh/Jennifer Lu


  • Parajuli, Prabin

  • Email: pparajuli@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Lin Tian


  • Pate, Jacob

  • Email: jpate@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Raut, Nabin

  • Email: nraut@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Riahinasab, Tayebeh

  • Email: triahinasab@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Sapkota, Deepak

  • Email: dsapkota@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Sarang, Som

  • Email: ssarang@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh


  • Tan, Amanda

  • Email: atan25@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Linda Hirst


  • Thompson, Johnathon

  • Email: jthompson29@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jay Sharping


  • Vallomparambath, Ritwika

  • Email: ritwika@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Wilson, John

  • Email: jwilson54@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jing Xu


  • Collins, Kevin

  • Email: kcollins9@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Lin Tian


  • Delmas, William

  • Email: wdelmas@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sayantani Ghosh/Michael Scheibner


  • Montes, Salvador

  • Email: smontes4@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Kevin Mitchell/Jing Xu


  • Parajuli, Bishal

  • Email: bparajuli@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Chih-Chun Chien


  • Sarpangala, Niranjan

  • Email: nsarpangala@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Ajay Gopinathan


  • Spinuzzi, Joseph

  • Email: jspinuzzi@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Scheibner


  • Wheeler, Aaron

  • Email: awheeler6@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Sarah Kurtz/Sayantani Ghosh


  • Wheeler, Alauna

  • Email: awheeler5@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Jing Xu/Jay Sharping


  • Woodall, Mark

  • Email: mwoodall2@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: Michael Scheibner


  • Talit, Kuntal

  • Email: ktalit@ucmerced.edu
  • Advisor: David Strubbe